Ross 
		County Sheriff's Office, Ohio - Sheriff George W. Lavender, Jr.


HomeDivisionsSheriff Sales
Contact Us
NewsWeather Alerts

OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW

Following are a few points that Sheriff Lavender feels may answer some questions of the citizens of Ross County :

•  The Law goes into effect on April 8, 2004 .

•  The Attorney General's Office must submit rules governing the permit process to the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review within 30 days after April 8. However, the Attorney General's Office is trying to get the rules implemented earlier than that date.

•  Within 30 days of the rules taking effect, the application form, instructional pamphlet and license form must be available to county sheriffs.

•  Once the materials are available to the sheriffs, citizens may apply to his/her sheriff or the county sheriff adjacent to his/her county.

•  When a citizen applies for a permit, he/she cannot carry a gun into the sheriff's office.

•  The law states that a permit will cost up to $55. However, if a federal criminal history check is made of an applicant who has been an Ohio resident for less than five years, the fee can be the actual cost of the federal check, plus up to $55. The cost of the permit is separate from the cost of the required training.

•  The permit process consists of the review of the citizen's age, background, fingerprints, residency period, addresses, criminal records and mental competency.

•  The Attorney General's Office and the Buckeye State Sheriffs' Association are working on how the mental competency records can be protected while using them to meet the requirements of the law.

•  Once the permit is issued, the county sheriff is responsible for keeping the information. All supporting documents that are not public record and used to obtain a permit must be destroyed within 20 days.

•  The permit, and all information on it, is a public record that can be accessed by the media.

•  The Attorney General's Office must keep statistical information about permits. The first report will be issued no later than July 8, 2005 .

•  The demand for permits is expected to be high when the law becomes effective. It may take up to 28 days to obtain a permit. By this time next year, the process could take as little as seven days.

•  It is recommended that citizens obtain their training now.

•  If a citizen has undergone the REQUIRED training within three years before their application for a permit, no further training is required.

•  A minimum of 12 hours of training is required, including two hours on a firing range.

•  Non-military and non-law enforcement can get certified training from instructors certified by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and the National Rifle Association.

•  Active and retired law enforcement and military personnel can get certified training from the Department of Natural Resources Peace Officer Training School.

•  Citizens may contact their local firing range, if one is available, or the National Rifle Association at http://www.nra.org for a licensed instructor.

•  Citizens must carry a permit if he/she has a gun on his/her person or in his/her vehicle.

•  If a citizen is stopped by an officer and has a concealed weapon, he/she must inform the officer that a gun is on his/her person or in his/her vehicle. Officials recommend that everyone, with a weapon or not, put their hands on the steering wheel of their vehicles. DO NOT reach for anything. Doing so may suggest to an officer that you are reaching for a gun.

•  Weapons are prohibited at some locations, such as schools and government buildings. Local businesses will decide whether to allow guns on their property and employers will decide whether employees may bring guns to work.

•  Companies that do not allow guns may post a sign stating such at the entrance to its facility. Carrying a weapon onto a property where such prohibition is posted is a criminal offense.

For a C.C. W. Application please click HERE

List of NRA Instructors in our area click HERE.

New issue resident for more than 5 years $67.00. New issue  resident for less than 5 years $98.00. A renewal, resident for more than 5 years will be $50, and a renewal resident less than 5 years will be $81.00.

 

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

H.B. 12

CARRYING A CONCEALED WEAPON

 

COMMON QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

 

 

Q.  Where do I apply for a permit?

A.  At the Sheriff's office where you reside or at an adjacent county.

Q.  When can I apply?

 A.  The law goes into effect April 8, 2004 , but the Ohio Attorney General's Office must submit rules governing the permit process within 30 days after that to the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review. Within 30 days of the rules taking effect, the application form, instruction pamphlet and license form must be available to county sheriff's. Once the forms are in hand, you may apply for a permit.

Q. Do I have to get a permit before I get the training?

A.  No. In fact, it's recommended that people get training now.

Q.  If I have been previously trained , do I have to do it again?

 A.  No, as long as the training was done by a certified instructor and occurred within three years of your application for a permit.

Q.  How much training do I need?

 A.  A minimum of 12 hours, including two hours on a firing range.

Q.  Can I get certified training or a permit from the Ohio Department of Natural Resources?

A.  Only active and retired law enforcement and military personnel can get certified training from the Department of Natural Resources Peace Officer Training School.

Non-Military and non-law enforcement can get certified training from instructors certified by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and the National Rifle Association.

Q. How do I find a licensed Instructor?

 A.  You may contact your local firing range if you have one in your locale, or the National Rifle Association at www.nra.org , for certified training.

Q.  How do I know if someone is certified?

 A.  Ask to see their certificate.

Q.  Is the cost of training part of the permit?

A.  No.

QWhat does the permit cost?

A. The law says up to $55. However, if a federal criminal history check is made of an applicant who has been an Ohio resident for less than 5 years, the fee can be the actual cost of the federal check, plus up to $55.

Q. Once I start the process, how long before I get my permit?

A. Because we expect a high demand initially, it could take 21 to 28 days, "even if you're first in line." At this time next year, the process could take as little as seven days.

Q. What takes so long?

A. In addition to the high demand, it takes time to check backgrounds, fingerprints, addresses, criminal records and mental competency.

 Q. Aren't mental competency records confidential?

A. The Attorney General's Office and the Buckeye State Sheriff's Association are working on how that information can be protected while using it to meet the requirements of the law.

Q. Who keeps all this information and is it public?

A. The county sheriff keeps permit information. Once a permit is issued, supporting documentation, which is not a public record, must be destroyed within 20 days. The permit and the information on it is a public record, which can be accessed by journalists. The Attorney General's Office must keep statistical information about permits. The first report will be issued no later than July 8, 2005 .

Q. Do I have to carry the permit with me?

A. Yes, as long as you have the gun with you, either on your person or in your vehicle.

Q. Do I have to tell a police officer I have a concealed weapon?

A. Yes, if you are stopped by an officer, you must announce that a weapon is in the vehicle or on your person. Officials recommend that anyone, with a weapon or not, put their hands on the steering wheel of the vehicle. Do not reach for anything. Doing so may suggest to an officer that you are reaching for a gun.

 Q. Should I bring my gun with me when I apply for a permit at the sheriff's office?

A. No. You cannot carry a gun into a sheriff's office. Leave it at home.

Q. Can I carry the gun concealed everywhere else?

A. NO. Weapons are prohibited at some locations such as schools and government buildings. Also, businesses will decide whether to allow guns on their property. And employers will decide whether employees can bring guns to work.

Q. How will I know?

A. Those who prohibit guns must post a sign at the entrance to their facility.

 

For the full Concealed-Carry Weapons law, go to www.ag.state.oh.us . Or you can contact Dep. Vicki Hall at 740-773-1186 Ext 164 or by emailing her HERE.